SASS Wire Forum

Which pistol do you draw first?

Procedural Pete

When I started shooting SASS about a year ago, as a right-handed shooter, I started drawing my right or strong-side pistol first. I've noticed many shooters draw their weak-side pistol first.  I noticed today while practicing transitions that I could be laying my shotgun down with my strong hand while starting to draw the pistol with the weak hand. That seems to be a good argument for a week hand first draw. What are your reasons for drawing the weak or strong hand pistol first?

I will alter which pistols is pulled first, not for usually speed, but for safety reasons.  I will pull my left pistol first if moving to the right.  It keeps my body between the pulled pistol and spotters/TO. I may also choose which pistol to lead with if there is movement after shooting.   If a shooter has to move to the left after shooting, the right holster comes to the pistol as the shooter moves.  The left holster moves away.

Mileage will vary, and there are much better shooters than this cowboy.

I draw my left pistol first.  It is a habit that started a long time ago that I need to change.  The stages at many of the matches move from left to right and drawing left first works fine BUT, as more and more stages are being designed differently I need to draw according to stage design rather than habit.

Blackfoot

I shoot gunfighter so most of the time I draw both, now depending on the stage ill shoot the left or right which ever makes it flow smoother

Draw the one that makes the associated transitions easiest and smoothest.  Split pistol stages can be interesting in that regard. 

I use a cross-draw on the left side and I pull that revolver first, with my right, strong side hand, simultaneously raising my left hand to engage with my right, in a two-hand shooting grip to fire five rounds.