SASS Wire Forum

Look back in time,

Deuce Stevens SASS#55996

Interesting video of a CAS match in 1995. We were still doing a lot of this type of stuff in Michigan when I started. I know asking our current crop to get down on one knee to shoot would be tough right now. But it's fun to look back.

• Replies 91
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Deuce,

I started shooting in 1999 and there still was laying, kneeling, sitting on a variety of things including boxsprings or pretend horses,...

I'm not so sure I favor it any more. After tearing my meniscus, kneeling is not very appealing. Heck, I've even gone from my trademark booming SG loads to feather light equivalents after breaking a shoulder.

Time has a way of changing things that were once fun.

Regards,

Allie

A couple of observations.

1. While kneeling may not be practical for some of us for various legitimate reasons, maybe there is way to still include it. Something like this...

Start at Position 1. At the beep shoot will either A. kneel and fire through the opening or B, move to position 2 and fire through the window while standing. Move to Position 3 and.... Continue as normal.

Choice A or B would have different targets, and it would be shooters choice. It would have to be designed so that there is no advantage to getting 3 from either 1 or 2, and the kneeling or moving should take about the same about of time. Just a thought.

2. The third Calvary reenactors? Calvary is a hill outside of Jerusalem.

I started in May 96 and we did all kind of goofy stuff would getcha strung up now.

Funny to see pistol targets farther out than rifle targets are now.

Wonder if it was a mistake by the narrator and film maker or if Comancheria Days did used to be Comanchera Days back then. Still a great annual.

And no, the narrator like most Americans cannot pronounce cavalry...

I tried to shoot off the back of my horse a few times, My horse did not appreciate it, and became quite entertaining.