SASS Wire Forum

Monthy matches= practice matches or do they?

When I started shooting CAS 11 years ago monthy matches in my neck of the woods were very often referred to as "practice mathes". It was explained to me by more than 1 person that we used monthys to get ready for States,Regional,National and World matches. Over the years it seems that monthy matches have turned into something different. Much more serious and much more important to folks. Now this could very much be a regional local thing. But has anybody else noticed this?

You're up awful early on Saturday mornin Deuce. So am I.

I haven't noticed it to the extent that you might have. But one of my shootin Pards rarely attends State and above matches and he tells me that every month, his big match IS the local match. He wants to win GF category and he tries hard. He makes extra efforts of have some of the best eqpt and keep it in top notch working order.

For me, I try to be competitive at the monthly BUT, I try new stuff sometimes at our monthly match. And although I try to make it look good and fast, it don't always turn out right for me.

..........Widder

I think that for a lot of folks, heading to regional or national shoots isn't an option. So I would say that you're right for a lot of shooters local monthly matches is it.

Just my 2 cents.

Frenchy

I've found that I have just as much fun at the locals and I've been consistently disappointed with the regionals and states I've gone too. The Ohio State shoot in Piqua is a good one though I hope to make it this year.

:) Rye

For me I try harder at certain matches each month and sometimes it depends on who is there to compete with.

Some monthly matches I try to make myself smile by the end of a stage

For many of us. A monthly is just that. A practice match.

BUT.

We should not forget. That for some. THAT monthly. may be the biggest one they go to all year.