SASS Wire Forum

Stoeger: Now a Wall Hanger?

I previously posted about the broken stock on my Stoeger coach shotgun. It cracked and splintered right where it attaches to the back of the frame.

After a few calls and hints and contacts from pards here on the Wire (Thanks, by the way), I got a call from Benelli USA with an ok to send my shotgun in for a new stock to be fit.

After a few weeks, I rec'd a call from the gunsmith at Benelli. He was unable to do any work on the shotgun because it has been “overworked” with it's cowboy action job tune-up. Breachblock, lugs, headspace, chambers, etc are “out of spec” due to too much metal removed. He would not give it a new stock.

He sent it back to me with the barrels labeled “Unsafe to Shoot”.

However, I've been shooting this shotgun this way for a couple of years (with our low-power loads) without problems until the stock cracked. Never a problem.

That leaves me a very unhappy cowboy with a wallhanger?

Or safe with lowpower and/or BP loads?

I guess I could still use it shooting blanks in Cowboy Mounted Shooting (using an insert to accept 45 Coklt blanks) or sell it to a re-enactor

I would Image you would get the same response if'n you had sent a SKB or Browning back to the respected manufacturer gun repair shop with fun Cowboy Race Ready action jobs.

It is a legal liability issue for them. Easier and safer for them to do what they did (document it unsafe when it left their shop)

Listen to the gun smith. If he says it's unsafe to shoot, Benelli is off the hook if anything goes wrong. Stoegers are not expensive guns, get another one. Keep it as a wall hanger. If it's sold and someone else has a problem with it it may come back to you. Not worth the aggravation or risk. Besides, you still don't have a stock for it.