SASS Wire Forum

Another Newbie Saying Howdy

Flanigan Flats

Howdy, another newbie here. My new name is Flanigan Flats. I live in Reno, Nevada. Like others on here I spent hours every day as a kid riding my horse (bike) and fighting the good fight with my trusty toy six guns. Good western movies have always been my favorite movies. John Wayne, Clint Eastwood, Robert Duval, Tom Selleck and Sam Elliot are my favorite actors. If it wasn’t for Louis L’Amour, I probably would not have learned to read. I still reread my favorite Louis L’Amour books every year. So yea, I guess I’m the stereo typical middle aged man trying to reach back into my childhood and play grown up cowboys and indians.

I haven’t shot in an actual match yet. I am an Active Guard Reserve in an Air National Guard unit here in Reno. I’m a Security Forces member and work weekends right now. That is supposed to change in the middle of Jan when I move to a back office job. If that doesn’t work out I’ll start taking leave on Sundays LOL. In October I was TDY in Texas and participated in a New Shooter orientation put on by the Tejas Caballeros. Dragon Hill Dave and Doc Crumley were the primary instructors and did a great job covering all aspects of Cowboy Action Shooting. It was very informative for me and put the last tug into setting the hook for me. There were lots of different CAS guns for us to try. Open top revolvers, New Vaquero’s, 1858 Remington’s with conversion cylinders, A hammered SXS, Stoeger SXS, a 97, A rossi 92, a very slick 66. I’m sure I missed something but you get the point, there was lots to try. My wife’s uncle is an active shooter in my area and has been a great help to me as well. He is lending me a gun cart until I build one and has answered all of my many questions.