SASS Wire Forum

Are the new Vaqueros worth the price?

Cool Name TBD

Hey everyone - I'm new to cowboy shooting and looking at what I'll need.  I've had a couple of shooters recommend Vaqueros due to them being better built, stronger, etc.  

Here's where my questions come in:  are the Ruger new Vaqueros worth the premium price?  From what I've seen they are almost twice as much as some of the other popular models (Uberti, Cimarron, etc).  

I know the old Vaquero was made on a beefier frame but the new ones seem to be more in line with everything else.  I've also noticed the springs are coiled as opposed to flat but dont know if this is better or if it even matters.

Luckily the group I'll be shooting with has some people who will loan me some stuff so I can get shooting but I want to be getting my own so as not to take advantage of their good will.  I'll be keeping an eye out for used stuff as well.

Ultimately trying to figure out if it's a buy once cry once thing or if I'd be better off going with a different brand and using the savings towards other stuff I'll need.

Thanks in advance

The Ruger Vaquero is built like a tank. It takes a licking and keeps on ticking. I have four and I would not trade them for anything else. And, they are made in the USA which means something to me.

The coil springs break less than flat springs.

Just now, Cholla said:

The Ruger Vaquero is built like a tank. It takes a licking and keeps on ticking. I have four and I would not trade them for anything else. And, they are made in the USA which means something to me.

The coil springs break less than flat springs.

Are yours the new Vaqueros?  I know the originals were over built but wasn't sure about the new ones.  

The New Vaquero has become the workhorse revolver of our game. They are every bit as strong as the original large frame Vaquero.

One exception.
The only thing you can’t do is shoot high pressure loads out of a New Vaquero 45 Colt the cylinder walls are too thin.