SASS Wire Forum

Opinions on Open Tops for Main match

Captain Clark

I already know of some of the downside on open tops, but can't seem to stop thinking they are kinda cool! I'm wanting to hear from open top shooters on what it takes to get them up to a reasonable level of competition. Yea, I know that practice is way up the list, my interest is more along what the pistols need themselves, caliber, bbl length, springs? I figure 38's are down the list cause they aren't good for Classic Cowboy. Heck, even advice on grip frame style will be appreciated! Thanks in advance

I have been using my opentops for about 5 years, my Richard masons are in .45 schofield I shoot full house black, of factory smokeless(not often) I also use 60 c&b for my main match guns, shoot them at Bordertown and Winter Range plus 2-3 other big events. I have pretty big hands so the Army grip works well but I also shoot my 51 navies all have original barrel length 8" for 60s and 7 1/2 for navies.

Rafe

Like many of you, I have seens aweso e shooters with guns that most of us could not shoot worth a lick (like a Schofield), and I have seen some shooters that not helped at all with the slickest, highly tuned SAAs that money could buy.

You either will or will not be competitive with a gun type.

You either shoot for 100% competitive reasons, 100% fun reasons or somewhere in between.

These are questions that only you can answer.

You asked about grip frame styles. Are your hands big or small? Try to get your hands on some Navy and Army grips, see what you prefer. Once you know that...