SASS Wire Forum

New guy...

C. Nyle DeMencha

Howdy all,

I didn’t see a place for newbies to post an introduction, so I apologize if it’s not in the right place. I'm a new "guest" here, just signed up to the wire yesterday. Not a SASS member yet, but I’ll be joining after the turn of the year (January 2012).

I live out in SW Michigan. I’m a former Army paratrooper, but pretty new to handguns and competition shooting. I just started shooting and reloading this year (IDPA) with a 1911 (45 ACP), I've learned a LOT this year! I accidentally found SASS while I was looking for something else, but the more I read, the more I smiled. My imagination ran wild. “Wow,” I thought, “this sounds like a second childhood...only with better toys!”

Back in the 70’s I used to run around with my friends playing cowboys and indians, or Lone Ranger, shooting bank robbers and other bad guys (sometimes I was the bad guy...and that was fun too!), and riding my horse thru the plains (bicycle thru the neighborhood) with six-shooter cap gun in hand. I loved watching westerns as a kid (still do). Same old common story, I know.

Anyhow, I found a SASS match near me this past summer and wanted to go check it out. I talked to the wife and told her I was heading out there and asked if she wanted to go too. She did. Well, that meant the kids (12 & 13 y/o girls, and a 16 y/o boy) had to come along as well, because they weren’t staying home alone. Of course, they fussed and whined all the way there, talking about how it isn’t fair that they have to go and how they wanted to play some game online with their friends. (rolls eyes)