SASS Wire Forum

Mixing up your shooting style.

Deuce Stevens SASS#55996

I just shot my 4th match in a row duelist. It has been a blast. Don't be afraid to go outside your comfort zone a bit. It's been a nice break from shooting two handed. And actually kinda relit a little flame. Try it,you'll like it.

Duece, I've been shooting duelist for 15 years. 5 years ago I went to FCD, I've tried to shoot two handed but I'm kinda off kilter with that. I guess that's because I shoot everything one handed, (1911's, Glocks etc) I've tried GF a couple of times at our wed. shoot so that's the next probable step. FCGF. I agree, everyone should try sumthin different once and awhile. At our Wed. and Sunday shoots at Firelands we don't use any categories so the idea is you can try a different shooting style on any stage. Rye ;)

I just shot my 4th match in a row duelist. It has been a blast. Don't be afraid to go outside your comfort zone a bit. It's been a nice break from shooting two handed. And actually kinda relit a little flame. Try it,you'll like it.

Brother D, way to go! Just wondering what your observations are on stage shooting sequence design? We always hear how stages are gunfighter friendly etc? Your thoughts from a duelist extroidinaire point of view?

I switched from shooting two handed smokeless to frontier cartridge (two handed) a couple of years ago. Will shoot CAC in FC category then plan to switch to FCD. Gives me the winter to dry fire practice and shoot local matches.

My question to you Deuce, are you shooting straight duelist or double duelist?

This year I have shot: Frontier Cartridge Gunfighter, Standard Gunfighter, Two handed, and duelist (Classic Cowboy). The variety does make for some fun, except for the Classic Cowboy thing in which I took a horrible whupp’in. :(

Spittoon