SASS Wire Forum

What to do about revolvers that shoot six inches low.

Guest Pecos River Bob

Guest Pecos River Bob

I am new to SASS, but not a new shooter. I recently purchased two new Pietta 1873 revolvers and started shooting them Offhand from 15 yards, took awhile to see where the bullet was going, I found that I had to aim at the target above to hit the target below. Next week I carefully made some new ammo 38 special cases, Winchester Magnum primers and some TiteGroup with a 130 grain LRNFP bullet. Now at 7 yards from a dead rest I have to aim 5 1/2" above and 2" left to hit the center of the Bulls Eye.I could attach a pdf copy of the target if I Knew how.

Tell me what you think? Thanks a lot. Florida Slowpoke

First off your new and may not know this but the owners of this board don't want folks to post actual formulas for reloads as there might be some liability associated with it....so I'd think you ought to edit the actual weight of the powder out of your original post.

Given that you are shooting off a rest and still low it would appear that your sights might need a bit of work. If you's shooting too low you can file off a TINY bit off the tops of the sights to bring the point of aim a little higher. You'll need to do that in small steps to bring up the point of aim. If you are not comfortable doing that you should take your guns to a qualified gunsmith to help you with that.

My thoughts only.. (but yeah... ya need ta get rid of yer loading data off the SASS Wire)

Find a load that you want to stay with.. what I mean is..

You said you were new to Cowboy Action Shooting...

Experiment with different loads..

I'd recommend shooting like you would in a match and not off of a dead rest..

Find a load that you'd say... "That's the recoil and power factor I want"

Then start having it sighted in..

Rance <_<

Thinkin' I ain't a shooting instructor either :blush:

But I sure wouldn't start filing on the sights til I have "THE" load I wanted to stay with..