SASS Wire Forum

.45 Colt vs .45 Schofield vs .45 Cowboy Special

Scratch McCoy

I am kinda new to CAS and all my guns are chambered to shoot .45 Colt. It seems that many .45 Colt shooters actually shoot .45 Schofield or .45 Cowboy Special in their revolvers. For all you 45 shooters out there what cartridge do you use in your revolvers and why? What is the advantage of .45 Schofield or .45 Cowboy Special vs the normal .45 Colt?

45 Schofield and the 45 Cowboy Special recoil less in revolvers. The only other advantage is if you are using black powder, you will use less, therefore adding to an economic benefit.

I shoot full load black powder 45 Colt loads - Why? cause it suits my definition of fun :)

GG ~ :FlagAm:

I shoot regular 45 long colt in most of my guns although I do shoot 45 Schofield in my '60 army conversions. Most the people who use the Schofield and the Cowboy Special do it to conserve powder is my understanding,

Howdy Scratch and welcome to SASS/CAS.

I mostly (75% of the time) shoot .38's BUT, when I shoot my Ruger .45's (25%), I use the Cowboy .45 Special (C45S) and really like it.

In my Ruger Sheriff models, both .38 and .45, the feel is the same. I mostly use a 160 grainer in the C45S but Adirondack Jack has an EXCELLECT 130 grainer that I really love. I get the 160's cheaper and thats the ONLY reason I shoot them.

As for performance, I personally think it can rival any other cartridge we use in power factors, powder burning efficiency, AND accuracy. It is a great cartridge.

I wish you well.

..........Widder

.45 Colt in mine.

• I've had pistols chambered in .45 Colt "all my life". It's a tradition.
  • Started with a large inventory of the brass, it's easier to find and cheaper than the other two (although nowhere near "cheap")
  • I've figured out how to load good .45 Colt revolver loads to be "about as fast to shoot as what I could do with .38s" (170 grains at 700 FPS)