SASS Wire Forum

SxS technique video

Deuce Stevens SASS#55996

I have gotten quite a few pm's over the last couple of years asking about SxS technique. Let me start off my saying that I am by no means an expert nor am I trying to be one. I simply wanted to make a video that was easy to understand and that showed a loading technique up close and personal. There are a few really good double guys in this game and they all do it a little different. I should have stated it in the video but make sure the area is CLEAR OF ALL LIVE AMMO before doing any type of dryfire practice. It's not a highly technical video, I wanted to keep it basic and easy to understand, I find that more in depth instruction is best done one on one. hope you enjoy and hope it helps a couple people out. http://www.youtube.com/user/deucestevens?f...u/0/PnIleSyy1sw

Good video, Deuce. I do take the gun to my shoulder for loading, but the emphasis on focusing on the chambers is helpful. When I flub the shotgun part of the stage, it is almost always in the process of loading the shells into the barrels. I roll them in, but am probably guilty of taking my eyes from the task at hand to look at the targets too soon. And I never gave enough thought to shortening the "shucking" motion. I will practice the suggested technique--clear that I can shave off a little time there, especially on 4+ target stages. Thanks much.

Cassalong Hopidy

Thanks Deuce:

Was just thinking the other day that I need to refine my shotgun technique as I waste alotta seconds there.

Can't keep ahead of Crazy Mingo with my slow shotgun technique.

Ever shoot a hammer double?

Need a video like yours for a hammer gun too.

Thanks

--Dawg

Great! Picked up a couple of movements there that I had not thought of. I like the focus on the extractor idea very much.

Great video by a person who has authority to teach!! - I just realized why.....I am one slow, incorrect, shotgun handlin' turd :unsure: