SASS Wire Forum

OT Electric Autos

Gold Canyon Kid #43974

Sounds bad to me. The electric only vehicles have such a premium price in the first place. Even with tax incentives from the government they are still high. Of course there is a lot of R&D cost recovery in such a new product so it will be several years before they are within the financial reach of us common folks.

As an aside, I am an electrical engineer for a power company and there is much discussion within our industry about the impact of wide spread adoption of electrical vehicles and their impact on the power grid. You've got to charge up those buggers and if most folks plug them in and start to charge them up when they get home from work that will coincide with the turning on of their air conditioners and other things creating additional loading on the grid when the peak loading already occurs. There are several options to address all of this but in the end it will be expensive for all concerned.

And now they want to add additional tax on these things...not good!!

No such thing as a free lunch, is there?

Saw a story about a year ago where a guy had modified his Mercedes diesel to run on vegetable oil. He would collect it from the fryers at restaurants. Had a bumper sticker that said "Powered by Recycled Veggie Oil". Some revenue agents saw his car, tracked him for a while, then fined him somewhere around $4,000 in back road taxes. So much for being a Greenie.

I guess if I had to choose between paying my hard earned money to my local state government for road repairs or to the multi national oil companies because Arab strongmen don't want to provide freedom to their citizens, I will pay the local state government. I drive a hybrid and a SUV. The SUV spends a lot of time in the garage these days.

I am more worried about the local utility infrastructure. We should have spent a lot of the money given to billionaires over the last decade on upgrading our electrical grid.

Howdy,