SASS Wire Forum

Chamfers on SxS Shotgun

TN Mongo, SASS #61450

I've had all my doubles tuned by a very good local cowboy gunsmith. He is conservative on chamfering the entrance of the chamber, but some other doubles I have seen that have been worked on by some of the nationally known gunsmiths have been funneled to the point that rolls of pork sausage would drop in them.

My smith is hesitant to mess with the inner edge where the bottom of the shell touches. I would like to know from some of you gunsmiths that specialize on doubles what is the correct amount when opening up the chamber mouths and what should be avoided.

First, I'm only an amateur and not a real gun smith.

The face of the barrel sets the head space for the gun. So if the funnel goes too deep, the shell is no longer within the proper head space. It will mess up firing and can change the pressures. So the trick is to make certain that the shell fits properly to the face of the frame of the gun (essentially touching it rather than being further into the chamber.)

I have found that you do not need to completely funnel the entrance. I like to see at least a thin line left to ensure the shells is held in the proper position to the face. Some will polish to that is not visible and that can still work, but I like the assurance of seeing at least the line.

And the most important thing is that there are no sharp edges. A little bump doesn't seem to bother most shooters and certainly not me.

The same is true when polishing the slide of a 1911 pistol. As long as the slide is smooth (even a little "lumpy"), it works great. You just don't want sharp edges.

Would this work?

Remove the extractors from the barrels, put a fired hull in each chamber, then bevel the entrance without touching the hull or shortening the outermost edge.

In other words, use the hull to protect the metal that should not be removed...