SASS Wire Forum

.45 colt reloads

Longhorn Jack

I am just getting into CAS and SASS and I haven't had a chance to look into the rules yet but I feel am looking for some info on bullet type and weight and charge weights for .45 colt that are legal and safe for SASS. Thanks for any info in advance. LJ ;-)

I think there is a rule or something that we can't list specific load data on this forum.

I shoot 200gr and Clay's powder(near the lower end of Clays recommended load data). I also load up some 250gr for my Marlin to cut down on blow back. I don't shoot my Marlin much since I'm in Classic Cowboy and have a 73. I use the same amt of powder in both loads.

CPK

Posted · Hidden by Black Harris #154, March 5, 2013 - No reason given
Hidden by Black Harris #154, March 5, 2013 - No reason given

LJ,

We're not allowed to publish any load info on the wire

If you are going to use smokeless powder, get yourself a reloading manual like the Lee Modern Reloading

If you're are going to allow us to lure you to the darkside...

Black powder and substitutes load by volume.

That is to say that a full load is going to fill the case with enough powder to only allow enough space left to seat the bullet and slightly compress the powder

Ultimately, you're going to work out a load recipe that works best for yourself and your guns

I use American Pioneer Powder, a BP substitute.

It works well for me

I use a reduced power load. With BP and subs, that is accomplished by using a material like grits, cream of wheat, or corn meal to be placed in the case after the desired amount of BP is placed in the case.

The combined amount of powder and filler then leaves enough space left to seat the bullet and slightly compress the powder

I too use a 200gr RNFP for my bullets.

I started using 250gr but worked out a recipe using 200gr as they were a little cheaper.

The reduced powder load using filler gives me more mpg on powder too

Great thanks for the info