SASS Wire Forum

Can A GunFighter really compete?

Marshal Max Henry

Im new to the sport and as far as I am concerned there is no other way to have fun than with shootin GF but I notice the traditional guys win overal the overwhelming majority of the time. Has there ever been a GF overall winner? Should I strive for this or is it just not possible?

• Replies 76
  • Created
  • Last Reply

When you choose your category you will find several categories are just slower for many reasons. But remember it was your choice and no one made you choose it. There are some very fast cowboys shooting gunfighter. Look at scores from EOT and WR to see some of them by name. Just watch some video of great guys like Lassiter.

Guest Joe West, SASS#1532 L Regulator

If the only way you'll enjoy SASS is as the overall champion of the world, your time with us will be short.

GF can win a match anytime as could even a FCD if conditions, skill, and luck align. The GF certainly seems to have a better shot than any BP shooter.

I'm certainly not going to challenge Easy Rider to a contest. I'm sure he'd beat me easily with my own C&Bs.

Joe

I think it was in 2008 at the Montana State Match a shooter named "Paladin" took first place shooting gunfighter.

I shot very well with either hand and didn't have to take time to change handguns.

Sage Creek Gus

At comin at cha this year, the top four were as follows

Cowboy

Duelist

Frontier Cartridge

Gunfighter

I'd say yes gunfighters can compete, as can the others.

Yep.

Top 4 overall was a good mix. Not sure which was bigger.

Nuttin taking 2nd as a Duelist. Spur 3rd shooting black. And then Possum right there as GFer.

Of course TRO taking the top spot. (which I called by the way) :blush:

A good GFer can be right in the mix. Possum has won overall at many places shooting GFer.

Same with Nuttin as a Duelist.

But if you are going to get to the top in any category. You better plan to really work at it.