SASS Wire Forum

Guns Cleaned & In the Safe-Shoulder Replacement Surgery Monday

Cleaned all my cowboy & bulls eye guns and stored them away for awhile. Monday I go under the knife for a total shoulder replacement. Need both of them done. Hope to get back to shooting for next June's Revenge shoot. Both of them have been really bad the last year, so at least after they are both done, the pain will be less (or gone completely, I hope!).

Need to get back to shooting ASAP so Utah Bob won't be the only cowboy shooting BP at our monthly shoots.

Prayers for a speedy recovery.

I've worked with many post-surg patients and more knee replacements than I can count, but I have absolutely no experience with shoulders.

This means the only real good free advice is limited to:

Pain meds takes a full half hour to work, so before you go to physical therapy, take the pain meds FIRST.

Keep ahead of the pain, don't wait until you're hurting.

Otherwise ... like I said, I have no experience with shoulders ... but everyone that's had a knee replaced, told me the same thing:

"If I knew how much better I'd feel after I got 'em replaced, I would've had them done before they went bad!"

I have had both shoulders replaced. The right one in 2009, the left in 2011, about 17 months apart. When I came out of surgery, I had a drain tube in for a couple of days. I had a PCA with morphine. Stay ahead of the pain. When you go to oral pain meds, don't tough it out. Make sure the Dr and nurse know if the dose and time interval are adequate. (Experience talking here.)

When you start PT, make sure you do the home portion with the colored bands. It will help with the strengh and range of motion. The ball crawl (pushing a ball up a wall) is painful, but a must.