SASS Wire Forum

Potential Competitor Seeking Firearm Advice

Cholla Hill Tirador

The wife and I attended/watched our first CAS match last Saturday and we really enjoyed it. A buddy who competed even let us both run through one of the scenarios. What a hoot! So now I'm interested. I've been a gun nut all my life, so am familiar with most models and types used in the competition. I'm a 30 year veteran of handloading and have been casting bullets for 15 or so years.

All the competitors I watched use some variety of Colt SAA's for a handgun with almost all of them chambered in 38 Spec/357 Mag. I'm going to cut to the chase: I love the looks of Colt Bisley's. Will they work OK? Just from comparing them to 1873's, they appear to have a frame and grip that places the bore lower thus aiding in recoil reduction. The hammer spur is also lower and appears it would be quicker and easier to manipulate than that of the '73.

I'd also like to use rifle and pistols chambered in either .44 Special or .44 Magnum with of course the intent to use light .44 Special loads or possibly even .44 Russians. I know the 38 Spec is "better", but I think it'd be fun to shoot something different than the masses. Does anyone sell a Bisley repro chambered in 44 Spec or 44 MAg that doesn't cost a months wages?

For a rifle, I've found there are lots of levers chambered in 44 Mag, but some of the '92 repro's seem to be priced right. Are the '92's good options and if so, is any one brand better than another?

Before anyone flames me for my choice of equipment let me say that I'm more interested in shooting for enjoyment than trying to be a world champion and I get enjoyment out of using my favorite guns rather than what might be "best" (I currently shoot High Power competition with a 60 year old rifle).

Thanks for any advice!

TXF

First thing you are going to have to come up with a new alias as that one is already taken by one of our shooting champs.