SASS Wire Forum

Reloading

Turkey Creek Vic 80846

Do you clean your primer pocket on all your ammo for CAS? I have a Dillon 55B It deprimes , sizes and primes on first stage. Should I be removing case and cleaning pocket? ;)

I'm retired and have all the time in the world.

So I use the single stage press I bought 50 years ago

and yes I clean my primer pockets every time after having

some high primers. I have seen some other shooters deal

with high primers also.

Been shooting CAS for 7 years, havn't cleaned a primer pocket yet -- but -- I deprime and then tumble. About 30,000 loaded - 1 high primer total. YMMV

This is my first year reloading. I have reloaded about 3,000 .45 colt and not cleaned a pocket yet. No high primers as of yet.If I do not need to I won't

Howdy Turkey Creek Vic,

I shoot and reload .44-40 on a Dillon Square Deal B. The first year I had the press I loaded about 1200 rounds with maybe three relaods on most cases. I noticed a lot with high primers after the third reload. Since then I de-prime and clean the primer pockets before the go into the case cleaner. It's a bit of extra work but the high primer problem has gone away.

Depends on how old your cases are and your loads. I've only cleaned primer pockets once and that was on some pretty old cases. I noticed it was taking more force to seat the primer fully, so I took those cases and cleaned them. Solved the problem. At any rate, I don't clean pockets unless I run into a problem. YMMV.

Since then I de-prime and clean the primer pockets before the go into the case cleaner. It's a bit of extra work but the high primer problem has gone away.

Some people do it that way, but I don't recommend removing primers before they go into the tumbler. There's a greater risk of a piece of tumbling media getting stuck in the pocket or flash hole. If you'll be cleaning the primer pocket anyway, it makes no difference whether you deprime before or after tumbling.

Just my 2 cents. :)