SASS Wire Forum

Breaking bad habit/learning something new?

Shooting Bull

Let's say you want to change the way you perform a task. It could be shucking empties and loading fresh shells into your shotgun, drawing, aiming and firing your pistols or any number of things. Do you practice the entire task or do you break it down into individual components and practice those one at a time until you perfect each one before moving on to the next? 

I'm just a two year sass shooter so I have a lot to learn and several self taught bad habits to unlearn but here is what I am doing.  A friend who is a very good shooter has been working with me and basically we worked on individual drills;  the pistol draws and reholster, proper shooting stance, trigger/hammer coordination, from picking up the rifle aiming at the first target to holding it while letting my wrist action work the lever rather than have my elbow flying all about.

Each of these routines I work on individually at first then after getting somewhat consistent we combined pistol and rifle, and now I am setting up realistic stages and shooting entire stages using pistols, rifle and shotgun with live ammo several times a week.

I practice shotgun loading and shucking in my house as a separate discipline but can't figure out how to have the timer pick up a "start" and "finish" time span but think I'm loading a bit faster.

Probably doesn't help you much but at least starting out on individual drills first seemed to work rather a little of everything which would have been too much to remember all at once.

BULL,

I don't know if its as simple as one way or the other.

You probably already have some good skills that you will want to maintain.   But the new technique you are wanting to try might just need practicing on just that one item, like changing the way you reload the rifle or feed the SG.