SASS Wire Forum

Conceal Carry Holster

German Jim

I have no experience or idea of what type of holster could be/should be used to carry a full sized 1911 Colt clone. What would be a good type of material used in its construction? Inside the waist band? Outside the waist band? I'm not going to be carrying one but I was just wondering for future reference.

Thanks ahead of time for your input.

Well... I have a friend who carries one in an IWB holster... under a suit. Not sure of make or model, but it seems to work well for him ~ last time I saw 'im I asked if he was carrying. He was. ;)

Beretta makes a inside the waistband holster for there 92FS model thats made out of leather backing thats is perferated with holes so it breaths nice and it has a ploymer injection molded gun housing mounted on it. Thus making up the entire holster which is open all the way thru so no matter how long the muzzle it simply sticks out the end of it, yet the gun is secure. Years later I got a Glock 21(the full size 45auto) version and it fits in the holster even nicer than the Beretta that it was intended for. I would think a 1911 would be similer(they are all full size guns is what I mean) Heck check it out, best conceal carry holster I've found so far!(and I've worn a lot!)

I have no experience or idea of what type of holster could be/should be used to carry a full sized 1911 Colt clone. What would be a good type of material used in its construction? Inside the waist band? Outside the waist band? I'm not going to be carrying one but I was just wondering for future reference.

Thanks ahead of time for your input.

Has a lot to do with body build type, clothing dress and climate. If you can stand it, an IWB holster made by a good maker, such as Kramer or Sparks,

can be the most concealable.

If you're layering your garments, and OWB holster can work and is more comfortable for a lot more folks.