SASS Wire Forum

SxS Shotgun reload

baddwolf7

I am new to SASS having shot only about 4 matches. This may be an out of this world question but here it is. I saw somewhere on this wonderful world of the internet that you could put a lil Pledge on ya shotgun shells and it would make them faster to shuck out and reload. I figure that 1, trying to reload a shell with Pledge on it may make it just a lil slippery to get a handle on them, 2 might be considered as gaming and 3 dont know how an exploding device, i.e. shotgun shell and Pledge might mix.Any one ever try this? and if so did a trip to the e.r. follow it or maybe to ya local gunsmith?

• Replies 87
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I know lots of folks who spray Ballistol on their shotgun shells just before shooting so they shuck easier. I don't do it myself, I just make sure to keep the chambers clean. I think Pledge might be a bad idea, it doesn't smell as good as Ballistol either.

And some use a little bit of Armor-All or other car vinyl dressing to clean and polish their old worn-out hulls. :blush:

As long as you don't get so much oil onto the shell that it is making them slippery to grab, or cause high pressures (would take a LOT), there should not be a problem.

Be aware the some oils are not compatible with BP fouling and might make a sticky, hard-to-clean mess in the chamber if you are shooting Black powder shells.

Good luck, GJ

I did a "poormans action job" on the chambers of my sxs. get a 12ga bore mop and chuck it into a variable speed drill. cover the mop with SemiChrome Polish....put in the chamber and start to slowly scrub the chambers. do this til very smooth.

I then get another bore mop and put it on the end of a stick or rod, put it in a plastic bottle and keep it soaked with silicone. swab the chambers before the match and sometimes if ya need to run them thru a couple of passes during the match...shells should fall right out...

curley