SASS Wire Forum

Lessons in Reloading or Why one shouldn’t have more than one set of dies on the loading bench.

Pat Riot

I have been reloading ammo for over 25 years. I think I am pretty good at it, but no matter how good you are you can make mistakes. 
I run a single stage Lee press with Breech Lock adapters. Really nifty little gadgets that make changing does quick and easy and you don’t have to reset or adjust them once you have them set. 
Today I was humming right along loading. Some .357 Magnum and I planed yo finish up the .357 and move right into reloading .38 Special so I had both sets of dies on the bench and both die boxes were open. 
I had finished seating 100 bullets in 100 cases and moving to the last step of crimping. I grabbed my Factory Crimp die and as I stuck in the press and locked it in I thought to myself “Gee, that die sure does look stubby” without giving it any other thought I crimped a .357 round.

The press handle had a very strange feel to it. Almost like pushing a sharp knife through a watermelon.

IMG_1448.thumb.jpeg.7e5bd8dc341aa52f2e85e1964013010f.jpeg

I knew immediately what I did. While cussing myself under my breath I swapped out the .38 and .357 dies then finished crimping the remaining 99 rounds.

That round will sit in a prominent spot on my reloading bench as a reminder to PAY ATTENTION!

2 minutes ago, Cypress Sun said:

What are you going to call this new "wildcat" cartridge?

The .357 OS

The OS stands for “Oh Sh….!”

.357 Sig Long

On 8/30/2023 at 6:26 PM, Pat Riot said:

I have been reloading ammo for over 25 years. I think I am pretty good at it, but no matter how good you are you can make mistakes. 
I run a single stage Lee press with Breech Lock adapters. Really nifty little gadgets that make changing does quick and easy and you don’t have to reset or adjust them once you have them set.