SASS Wire Forum

Lee Turret vs Dillon BL 550

Tennessee Snuffy

Folks

I am considering going from a Lee turret press to a Dillon BL 550.  What has been the experience of those who have made the switch?   Is it worth the money to upgrade?  Is there a large difference in accuracy between the Lee and Dillon dies?  I load mainly 45/70 on my current Lee press and shoot about 1000 rounds per year at 400 yards and less.

Thanks for the help

Tennessee Snuffy

I have never had a Lee press. I went from a Lyman Orange Crusher to a Dillon 550 on the recommendation of a friend. I use RCBS dies in it with a lock-out die to check the powder charge. I liked the setup so well that I bought another 550 so I can keep one set for .45 Colt and the other for .357 Magnum. I have the strong mount on each and bins to hold bullets, completed cartridges, and empty brass.

I have no experience with the 550, but I went from a Lee 4 hole turret to a Dillon 650 years ago. Yes there's difference in quality of the machines and the amount of ammo you can produce. In my case I load several different calibers on the 650 and still use the Lee for 45-70 and a couple of other rounds.

If you are only shooting 45-70 at a rate of 1,000 per year, I'd wouldn't buy another press. Dillon, RCBS, Hornady dies are all nice dies. Lee dies work as well. My 45-70 dies are Lee. If accuracy is your main concern, consider a single stage press with a quality set of dies. I'm pleased with my 45-70 rounds produced on the Lee and have shot them very successfully at long range events out to 400 yards. If I wanted to compete in long range beyond 400 yards,  I would change my dies and go to a single stage press.

2 hours ago, Tennessee Snuffy said:

Folks