SASS Wire Forum

Gunfighter Question!

Colt McCloud, SASS #65003L

I got the call to Shoot Gunfighter in September right after Range War so have been at it since then . Have encountered many shooting sequences of targets and dry fire practiced many more but have not encountered or thought of this one until yesterday. Took some time to try and figure out how to best avoid "blocking" the movement but I can't see how it can be avoided for either the first 5 or last 5 rounds. Of course I'm fairly new to gunfighter so looking for a better way from you seasoned shooters and maybe a Jedi or two!

So..... stage starts with pistols and at the buzzer engage the 5 targets that are in a straight row to be shot: 1-5-2-4-3 and repeat for the next five rounds. Questions were asked as the stage instructions said outside-outside-inside-inside centre and the match director clarified it had to be done as indicated repeating the sequence twice. (Yes I asked if you could start the second five from the other end and it was a clear NO - - Dang!!!!)

Is there a "better way" to shoot it to minimize blocking (crossovers) on 5 rounds? Assuming of course I alternate the pistols!

Thanks

PS I managed to shoot it without a P and had a clean match!

I think I would do it as follows

Left right left right right

left right left right left

or reverse might actually work better as you'd be cocking the left while moving from the center target to the left target.

I would try it L R L R R first 5 and then L R L R L with next 5.Then I would watch Possum and see the best way to shoot.You beat me Grizz

I have found that habit is too strong to make major changes for one stage, so I would cross every shot on the 2nd 5. Too many Ps in this old boys pocket to do otherwise.

Might be tempted to shoot this one as a double cocker ... maybe ... :wacko:

CR