SASS Wire Forum

Lead removal help

ian-NH

I'm brand new to shooting lead ammo, I've always been a FMJ guy and cleaning guns was easy. Please help me get this lead out of my cylinder and barrel. Hoppes 9, CLP, and Remoil have all proven useless so far. What's the secret?

Thanks

Ian

I use a GOOD (i.e. FREE) penetrating oil, soak time and elbow grease. Repeat. And my 12 YO little angel does it for me. So I guess my real method is just sayingh "Here, clean these". She smiles and 'bingo' their clean an hour later. Then she cleans brass and reloads the ammo. :)B)

You can get a lewis lead remover or go the cheaper route like I go, get an all copper, not the copper coated, chore boy scruber, cut it up and wrap it around an old brush. A couple of pulls and all the lead comes out.

And if it is for cowboy shooting using softer lead will usually help. My wife shoot smokeless with my Blackpowder bullets, soft lead with a softer lube, and she NEVER has leading, pistol or rifle. I use the same lead alloy through my 45 acp and they work fine there also. If the lead is to hard it wan't seal the bore and you will get blowby and melted lead in your barrel. Softer bullets seal and usually eliminate this problem. On guns I have bought with leaded barrels the choreboy works pretty well. If it is real awful I use my Outers Foul out.

It is SO Much easier to prevent leading that it is to figure out an easy way to clean it, that I'll suggest ways for you to fix the problem instead of cleaning up the mess that results.

If you are leading the forcing cone or first part of barrel, you don't have the bullet fitting the barrel very well.

Can be several causes, the most common is that you don't have a large enough bullet diameter.