SASS Wire Forum

Rossi or Stoeger SxS

Squint

LGS has a Rossi Overland (used) and a Stoeger Coach (new). I’m new to CAS and trying not to wear out my old ‘97. My only other shotgun experience is a Winchester Model 24 SxS, but that was a gift from my late grandfather and I’d hate to run it too hard. Right now, the Rossi is about $150 more than the Stoeger. I like the look and feel of the exposed hammers, but I’ve seen that repair parts may be hard to come by. Can anyone weigh in with their own experiences, opinions, or alternative recommendations? Thanks for your time!

I can only speak for the Stoeger SxS. I have three, two in 20 ga., and one in 12 ga. I've had them all for over 10 years, and never had a problem with any of them. The only thing I ever did to them was install stainless steel firing pins.

• Like 1

I started in 2018 and bought a Stoeger SxS and shot it for 5 years without any issues and just this past year upgraded to the CZ Sharptail. I think the Stoeger is a great first gun to get started with. You will need to do some tuning but there are articles out there that describe how to do that.

TM

• Like 1

It is easier to learn how to shoot a self-cocking SxS fast than an external hammer SxS where you must cock the hammers manually.  I have both kinds of SxS shotguns and shoot the ones that self-cock the fastest.  I shoot my external hammer shotgun in Plainsman side matches where style is more important to me than speed.  Regarding the availability of parts, I defer to our gunsmiths.

3 hours ago, High Spade Mikey Wilson said:

The only thing I ever did to them was install stainless steel firing pins.

Thank you for the anecdote. Was the installation due to a broken pin or did you install them as an upgrade?

Thanks for the advice, all. I think I’ll keep an eye out for a used Stoeger to pop up somewhere.