Jump to content
SASS Wire Forum

Recommended Posts

For this scenario there are two sets of three rifle targets:

 

X  X  X         X  X  X

 

Instructions are to engage one set of rifle targets with a 1-2-2 sweep starting on either end, then repeat instructions with other set of rifle targets.

 

Shooter engages and hits first three targets appropriately.

 

Shooter then engages second set of targets: hits left target once, hits middle target once, then misses, hits middle target second time, then hits right target once.

 

What's the call?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Miss + Procedural

 

The "P" is for the 9th shot hitting the middle target instead of the last target in the second sweep. 

 

 

Edited by PaleWolf Brunelle, #2495L
add comment
  • Like 3

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Each bullet coming out of the barrel has an assigned target in this scenario. The miss (eighth shot) was assigned to the center target in the second group of targets.

The ninth and tenth round must go on the last target.

  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

What if the shooter claims to have been aiming at the 3rd target with his 9th shot and just missed it and hit the 2nd? 

  • Confused 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Tyrel Cody said:

What if the shooter claims to have been aiming at the 3rd target with his 9th shot and just missed it and hit the 2nd? 

We don't take intent into consideration.... It's still a miss and a P

  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 minute ago, Phantom, SASS #54973 said:

We don't take intent into consideration.... It's still a miss and a P

Interesting, I've seen a P overturned in a very similar situation to the one I mentioned.

  • Sad 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Tyrel Cody said:

Interesting, I've seen a P overturned in a very similar situation to the one I mentioned.

Wrong decisions happen all the time.

  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
38 minutes ago, Tyrel Cody said:

What if the shooter claims to have been aiming at the 3rd target with his 9th shot and just missed it and hit the 2nd? 

 

34 minutes ago, Phantom, SASS #54973 said:

We don't take intent into consideration.... It's still a miss and a P

 

Tyrel,

Its MY understanding that UNLESS the shooter was able to have a 'clear' miss  (ample space between targets to allow

a legit miss, its a 'P' and we can't take the intent into consideration.

 

The shooter would have been better off if the 9th shot had also missed any rifle target.

 

Miss and a 'P'.

 

..........Widder

 

Edited by Widder, SASS #59054
  • Like 2
  • Thanks 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The 8th round from the rifle was fired & did not hit a rifle target = M. 

The right target was not hit twice as required in the target sequence with the 9th & 10th shots & the miss was not the 9th or 10th shot = P.

(1) M & (1) P = 15 second penalty

 

If the 8th shot would have hit any target it would not have been a miss. If it was determined the target arrangement did not allow a clean miss and the 8th round had hit the right or left target, then a "P" caused by the hit of the 8th shot could have been negated. Target arrangements I saw early in my experience with CAS/SASS were sometimes set up with very little spacing between them, especially when five targets were set up in a "V" formation. Not so common in today's competitions.

  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Got it.

Edited by Lead Hammer
OOPS I was mistaken.....

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks to all for the replies.

 

I try to include a "what's the call" scenario in our clubs newsletter and seeing these discussions allows me to not only better understand why some calls are the way they are, but also to better explain it in a short article.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
11 hours ago, Chief Rick said:

Shooter then engages second set of targets: hits left target once, hits middle target once, then misses, hits middle target second time, then hits right target once.

 

What's the call?

look at it from counters point of view.  They are not looking at where the shooter is aiming, they are (or should be) looking at targets

first bank of targets:  OK

on second bank they hear the 6th (overall) shot then see/hear hit on first target, hear the 7th shot then see/hear hit on second target, hear the 8th shot but don't see/hear hit on second target MISS earned, hear the 9th shot and see/hear a shot on second target PROCEDUAL earned . . . and last two targets are hits so no more misses (and only one procedual per stage)

 Miss + P

 

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It was my "intenet" not to miss any targets.  So I shoot every match clean?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.