SASS Wire Forum

Nicest thing I've Finished for a While

CurlyDrew42

Once the leather breaks in I can do some smoothing but that holster is done. 

IMG_20171013_163157_373.jpg

Nice job, Curly.

That is hand stitched.  And hand tooled. There is some time into that holster. Outstanding!!

1 hour ago, Tascosa, SASS# 24838 said:

hand sewn or machine?

By hand.  My mum has a machine down in NM that could probably handle that weight of leather but I have never owned a machine.  Tempted but I have been working this way for 20+ years a machine might slow me down ;)

Curly, the machine is fast.....if you want to do it fast. 'Course, hand stitching will put down a machine every time done right. However, when you do a belt then I crank up the Cobra.

Got some more pictures?

46 minutes ago, Red Cent said:

Got some more pictures?

Not of this piece yet but more of my work can be seen on my blog-

https://spaceranger42.wordpress.com/

Hand work is precision work, and that is true art!

I've long admired carved leather with the background dyed.

That's the first time I've seen a patterened, dyed background.

That's NIIIICE!!!!!

Howdy,

Breathtaking.

I cannot think of a nicer holster and pard

I have seen a bunch.

Any chance of a similar crossdraw style for a shopkeeper?

You got praise from Red Cent and that's GOOD.....

Best

CR

11 hours ago, Red Cent said:

the machine is fast

The gent who has put the polish on my recent techniques doesn't use stitching at all on some of his work.  Too much of the stuff I make gets used pretty rough so I haven't tried that yet.

Thanks for the kind words, folks!

3 hours ago, Chili Ron said:

Any chance of a similar crossdraw style for a shopkeeper?

There is always a chance! Shoot me a PM sometime.

16 hours ago, CurlyDrew42 said: