SASS Wire Forum

Getting started

Guest srawlings

Guest srawlings

Im fairly new to competition shooting but found its something i love doing and alot of the guys i shoot with talk about CAS and ive taken a real interest in it, with all the reading ive done i still have a few questions, any help i can get on all this would be appreciated.

Outfit Questions:

Basic blue jeans with belt loops ok or do i have to cut off the loops and get suspenders?

Basic long sleeve shirt with collar ok or do i need collarless?

Any cowboy boots ok or are there ones to stay away from?

Any type of late 1800s style hat? I like the look of the Ausi Outback or stetson gambler styles, also felt or leather? ive worn felt cawboy hats and they can get pretty hot, would leather be better for this?

Good value Belt and holsters to start with? I was reading somewhere that leather tool belts work good and are cheap, what about holsters? I really like the look of the mexican double loop holsters but any to start would be fine. Im thinking strongside & crossdraw would work best for me.

Any recomendations on guns to start with?

Ive read i cant go wrong with rugers and would love the sass models but finding and affording them is the issue. Whats the best value six shooters out there (.357/38)

As for shot gun, double or pump? 12 vs 20 guage? Best value gun?

I was thinking marlin or rossi 357/38 lever rifle, anything wrong with those i should know about?

I know this is alot of questions but i am REALLY excited and am planning on visiting a local match, Please help out where ever you can, i cant wait to get my family and i involved in this sport. It seems like alot of fun, and by the way what am i looking at as far as start up costs? im guessing at least $1500 if i find good deals...

2 pistols $700-900

Shotgun $250-400

Rifle $300-500

Clothing $250-400 (hat, boots, shirt, pants, belt, holster and cart... i have nothing)

Thanks Shane

whew ! not sure I can remmeber all the questions !! ;)