SASS Wire Forum

Non-SASS Advice on an AR With all your help I found 1

Marlin Buckhorn,SASS 51727

Thanks again for everybodies input! I really appreciate it.

What are your thoughts about the quality, durability, accuracy and price on the Bushmaster products. Sorry I don't know more about the rifle than I have posted.

Your help is appreciated,

Marlin

I have/had several, never had a problem with any, never a FTF. For the price I feel they are a good value, not a Baer or other top line but not the price of those either. Way ahead of a Mini 14 in my opinion and easier to buy addons for. I'd buy another if I needed one.

Guest Sheriff Pack Wolf, SASS #31917

I have a different Bushy,..with a 20"barrel but it is reliable and shoots -3/4" with hand loads. I think your price is in line. My last AR cost about 700.00

I have a (made in Maine) bushmaster among my several ar-15 carbines. My Colt and Rock River carbines have match 2 stage triggers whereas the Bushmaster comes with a single stage trigger. I never noticed the difference until I was shooting for score that the single stage was not as 'precise" (for me) of a trigger. HOWEVER...it is an easy swap out to change the trigger. Most all AR 15 rifles and carbines are pretty much identical...some have rails to hang crap on but there is nothing wrong with Bushmaster....I personally would rather buy a Windam Weaponry to support the workers that Remington put out of work when they bought bushmaster and moved the factory .

All AR's will jam. That is why specific action drills are taught. I have seen a S&W go through a 2 class with no jams where as a Ruger SR556 had some issues.

Most issues are related to cheap ammo, cheap against and poor cleaning. The shooter also has an effect on reliability.

It is pretty hard to screw up when building an AR these days.

Some have better parts, some have BCG's that are shot peened some do not. Pick you poison.

Here is a link to what is referred to as the chart.