SASS Wire Forum

BP The real Thing !

Howdy

Been a lot of talk on the wire  re BP lately. I'm going to hop up on my horse for a while. Although I've been a shooter most of my years..  Cowboy was only started 10 years ago & my involvement with the darkside has only been the last 5 so I'm still learning...what I do know  is I love the 'REAL BP, only time I bought a sub was when my wife wanted to try but ended up being happier with the good stuff.

Now I know  that in some locations BP is a lot harder to get hold of because of Hazmat restrictions etc. [& other reasons ]

so subs are used.

Our rules say shooting smoke obscured targets & yes we get that with both but that's where the same comparison stops.

The majority of sub users say how well their guns run, don't need any messy lube, easier to load etc..well that ain't shooting 'Black !

Shooting real Back is a challenge to have the right recipe for your loads, keeping the guns running & everything that goes with making it all come together for a successful match !  I am in no way having a go at those that use subs..it has it's place just don't compare it to real BP. If anything have BP & Sub category's.

On a final note 'Frontiersman with a sub..now that's hard to get the head around.

No flames & sparks out of the barrel ..well no more to be said.

I'II hop down now...........

Holy Black is the One True Powder!  Anything else is just a fake.  :D

Kidding aside, I agree with you completely.  It's NOT just about smoke.  It's about the smell, the sparks, the flame, and yes, the cleanup which is not nearly as hard as some seem to think.  It's the entire package.

19 minutes ago, JohnHenryQuick said:

Spare me the sour grapes - it's about having fun and if you don't like it, then don't do it.  ;)

No sour grapes.  Just "black" humor.  Holy black humor.   I should have added a :D.