SASS Wire Forum

a Single Six .22 is not worth .357 money is it?

Marshal Max Henry

I put on here that I was looking for a Single six .22 Ruger the only response i got was from a Gentelman wanting $450. I thought this was rediculous(No offense to the Pard who offerd) But I am new to this game and type of weapon. I have Glocks and H&K's but he wanted the same money as if it were a New Vaquero.

? I could buy a Glock 19 for that. So i guess,because im new to this, that this is reasonable or just way too much? I need input because i dont want to get ripped of with my Greenhorness.

I have to compare this to motorcycles. I asked why some of the popular touring brands did not make smaller motorcycles. The answer was; it costs as much to make a small motorcycle as it does to make a big one. Same goes with SA revovlers. Costs the manufacturer just as much to make a .22 as it does to make a .357. I too have been looking at .22 revolvers to shoot in the local .22 matces. I shoot in the open catagory, but would like to shoot in cowboy so it would be better practice for my big boy shoots. Seems like a lot of times you can find a used .357 sheaper than a used .22 of the better brands. I've looked at some of the cheaper brands of .22s, but haven't seen one that was really worth owning.

Guest diablo slim shootist

only a "star" model single six is worth that kind of$$

what you are looking for should run under $300

its a good investment to buy the "Blue book of gun values"

for a reference guide so not to be taken advantage of-$39.95 :D

I have a old model 3 screw single six that I would not take 450.00 for.

Ruger currently lists the Blue Single Six Convertible (.22 LR and .22 Mag,) for $534; stainless for $601. They are sometimes hard to find. I paid $400 for a new one a year or so ago. Took over a month for my dealer to get it. Decided on a second one; got it in a week. Interestingly, they had consecutive serial numbers.