SASS Wire Forum

Changing barrel on a 66

Rafe Conager SASS #56958

Ok here goes, I have a 66 uberti rifle that I want to change to a carbine, I have everything I need to make the switch. Barrel mag tube, springs, forearm etc. I am an ok tinker, however I know that to change everything out I need to worry about head spacing etc. So my question is just how difficult is it to change out? Should I just take it to a Smith? How much should I expect to pay to have the work done? My goal is to get this rifle to be my main match gun. I have been using it as such but after years of using long barrel rifles, I started playing with my wife's 66 carbine in .38 and like the way it swings hate the caliber but like the shorter barrel so I found everything I need to make the change. Any one taken this leap? Just how hard is it to switch things out? Don't want to mess with it for weeks just to have to take it to a Smith. Advice is greatly appreciated.

Rafe

I've changed a couple of barrels.

It can be quite a pain, sometimes....

The first one I did was an octagon barrel '73 I wanted to change from a 24" 45 LC to a 20" 38WCF

And it actually went pretty smooth, I got the old barrel off and the new one on it lined up just perfect, 

I got very lucky, the headspace was right on, there were no major problems.

It was a lot of work, but I learned alot..... I ended up selling the gun a few months later.

My second one was a different story mainly because of round barrels, which are pain in the butt to unscrew.

Nothing lined up, the headspace was too wide and just about everything that could go wrong did.

I finally got it finished, after a couple of trips to the gunsmith. 

I still have it & shoot it occasionally and it Still has all the scratches in the barrel.

I've never had the desire to do another.....

I would recommend just buying a different gun.