SASS Wire Forum

I NEED HELP

I will try to make this short.

An acquaintance(someone I have done leatherwork for) had a wreck due to some mental problem and two weeks later tried to commit suicide on his motorcycle. He is 76 years old folks. He is not a kid anymore. We are not close friends. I had a small project in house and he came over to pick it up and he told me all his problems so I listened and tried to be as kind as I could. And I was until he got to the part where he admitted that he tried to kill himself on the motorcycle and well I told him how I felt about that.

That was last week. Tonight he called me talking about (in a round about way) about suicide again. Listen folks, I am not a doctor and neither am I trained in handling anything like this. I don't dare share this with Miss Carol because she has enough problems of her own,especially fighting high blood pressure. I did tell him he needed professional help, which he ignored. He is coming over Friday morning to bring me 2000 rds. of 45 LC ammo to sell for him. Problem is---he carries a gun all the time. He is a retired private detective. He has a carry permit. He is legal in the eyes of the law.

I need some advice here. Only my friends in the Saloon will know the answers to this one.

Cherokee(Worried stiff in Georgia)Charlie

The first thing you must think about is your own protection and those that may be in the house with you. I would not let anyone into my house under the circumstances you laid out. If yo must meet with this man on Friday, call him and agree to meet in a public place to exchange the ammo. If he is not agreeable to counseling or talking to a pastor your options are limited. I hope this helps. Keep us posted.

Wow, CC..

I don't have much more to add that hasn't already been said. Watch your back, be careful and keep a cool head.

All the advice given is the best steps to take. First, I would alert your local LEOs and make them aware.