SASS Wire Forum

We were all young once

Cheyenne Culpepper 32827

Another thread, the one about Ted Nugent got me to thinking, how many of us continue to be branded for things we did when were young. Apparently Ted did not want to be drafted. I, for one, have no idea what extremes he may have gone to to keep out of the draft. I graduated from High school in '71 at the height of the demonstrations against the vietnam war. Myself I was against it, and felt great relief when I pulled a 336 in the draft.

HOWEVER, in January of 72 I got saved and a great many of my past ideas were given the boot and a strong vien of patriotism was born, that continues to this day.

To those who have held grudges against Ted, perhaps it is time to set yourself free and forgive him,,,after all he isn't the same person today that he was years ago.

Now, Jane Fonda,,,tha's another case,,,,she hasn't changed, least that I can tell. Maybe I'm wrong,,,,but...I don't give her any reign over me...however if she were to come out in favor guns rights,,,,I would have to check it out, carefully,, people change,,, I'd hate for everyone to know all my past indescressions....

just the view from my saddle...

Cheyenne

I joined the Navy in 69.

I've loved this country ever since I can remember and would do it all over again if needed.

The military isn't for everyone. But that nasty war back in those days was such a displacement on our soul and character that it is easy to understand why alot of good Americans tried to stay out of military service.

..........Widder

I give a big Amen on that one CS!

The only major problem I have is if someone did his utmost to stay out of serving back during the draft and yet has no qualms about sending someone else's sons and daughters to war.

When someone puts themselves out in the public eye as a spokesperson, they deserve the criticism they earn.