SASS Wire Forum

Blackhawks?

McCandless

Howdy,

I've been away from SASS for a bit, haven't been reading or keeping up. I have a pair of nicely tuned 3 screw blackhawks in the back of the safe. I heard that new rules are coming out regarding their use.

So, supposing I want to put my Old Army's down and shoot these blackhawks, what categories will they be legal in?

Duc

As I understand the current rules you may shoot Blackhawks in any age based category. You can not however shoot them in such categories as Sr Gunfighter. Please don't ask to explain the logic in this.

I shoot Blackhawks and have ever since I started shooting SASS some 12 0r 13 years ago. Always shot in my age category.

Enjoy

Ben Scalped

Blackhawks are legal in age based categories and there is no new legislation that would prevent their usage.

Aren't thet also ok in duelist until 2016?

That's only in SENIOR DUELIST.

They're allowed all "stand alone" AGE-based cats and "B" Western.

Aren't thet also ok in duelist until 2016?

SR Deulist.

They have never been legal for Duelist or GFer.

Use to be for Sr Duelist. But now that category must comply with normal Duelist rules.

They did give them until next year to comply with the new rule for those that was shooting

Sr Duelist and might need to replace there guns.

That will go for GFer also.

Dang. Palewolf beat me to it.

So, they'll be legal for senior but not senior duelist?

The determining factor of them being legal or illegal in a particular category is that the Blackhawks have adjustable sights

I know they have adjustable sights. Them big a** sights have never helped me at all. Being as slow as a mud puddle doesn't help any neither!

I'll use the blackhawks some time or other, til then I've got plenty of other toys to keep me warm.

Thank y'all for your kind and prompt answers.

Duc

I guess that I need to read the rules again. I thought that the whole fixed/adjustable sight thing had been done away.