SASS Wire Forum

Death by car exhaust

Alpo

I read, some years back, that because of the catalytic converters on the new cars, you could not kill yourself with exhaust any more.

However, on the NCIS episode I'm watching, a woman is murdered by car exhaust.

Typical Hollyweird stupidness, or was I misinformed about the CO-poisoning not being possible?

I have been to several successful exhaust assisted suicides using modern catalytic converter equipped vehicles…..Now I'm a cop not a medical examiner so i don't know if was the exhaust contents per se or the fact that oxygen was eventually replaced by the exhaust gases. Either way it worked.

To the best of my knowledge, car exhaust still contains carbon monoxide, even though it is reduced by the converter.

You can still do it, convertor not. While the levels of carbon monoxide are lower now with converters, it is still deadly. Takes a bit longer is all.

What Doc, UB and Red Horse said. Source: CO poisoning/vehicles

How can CO poisoning occur if the engine has a catalytic converter? Exhaust gas that leaks out before the catalytic converter has high CO concentrations. Out-of-tune or misfiring engines produce elevated concentrations of carbon monoxide and unburned fuel that can destroy the catalytic converter. During cold starts the catalytic converter is ineffective. And if there is insufficient oxygen (caused by operation in a closed building or with a defective oxygen system), there will not be enough oxygen for oxidizing the CO to CO2.