SASS Wire Forum

Pop up trailer reccomendations

Come On Christmas

My wife wants I should sell my Sportster. I am succumbing as I am a Certified Driving Instructor so I see alot of teen drivers abilities and the idiots we avoid talking on they cell phones.

We want to buy a Pop Up trailer (I am also gonna buy the 1860 Henry this summer I have always wanted).

I asked her if she wanted a potty aboard. Thankfully she does not want me to deal with this . . .

We want running water and a stove. I know nix about Pop Ups, but I am thinking a stove and a spigot water jug would work.

A GOOD AIR CONDITIONER IS A MUST

Thanks for your recomendations,

Shameless Womanizer, Esquire

The A/C is good. The potty is more trouble than it's worth as long as you stay at nice campgrounds. (bathhouses) If you can take the stove outside and cook, that's a plus. A Popup is much lighter than a standard trailer and much easier to tow. It is a bit of a hassle storing stuff in them. With a regular camper, you just open the door and walk in and check supplies. Not so with a popup because you have to open it up to see if there are paper towels in the cabinets. Speaking of opening it up, that will usually take 10-15 minutes to get the top cranked up, beds slid out, support poles in place, cabinets flipped up, door assembled and the canvas adjusted.

A small refrigerator is a good thing. You can just buy one at Wally World for about $100. Just make sure it's short enough for the beds to slide over the top as you fold it up.

Popups are not good in the winter. The canvas has the R value of nothing.

A popup is great for weekend camping. We use ours a couple times a year. It stays in the basement, out of the weather and will probably last forever. Avoid storing it in the sunlight. UV does nasty things to campers.

I did not think about the fading issue. I was thinking Pop up. Maybe a small trailer would be in order.

Shameless