SASS Wire Forum

Shooting 45 70

Tennessee Snuffy

Folks

I need a bit of help, guidance, preference, advice and just general words of wisdom from your personal perspective.

I  am shooting a 405 grain bullet with 28.8 grains of IMR 4198 in a 45-70.  This load will only fill up the case about 1/3 of the way.  Does any add "any type of filler" on top of the powder to get a full case (similar to blackpowder) before seating the bullet?  

Thanks

Tennessee Snuffy

I shoot the same load (except it is 28.0 gr of H4198). No filler is required or recommended. You should get good ignition even in a wide range of temperatures. I do. That is a good load

EDIT OP is using IMR4198 and NOT H4198 as I originally thought

My load is similar - 24 gr. of H4198 behind a 405 grain bullet.  I use a quarter piece of single ply toilet paper as a filler.  Not because I'm an expert in these things but a fellow shooter suggested it, and it kind of makes sense to me that the powder will ignite more consistently "stacked" against the primer as opposed to laying flat along bottom of the case.

Again just my thoughts, there are folks here way more knowledgeable.

Sheriff L.

Using any kind of a filler over smokeless powder would not be a recommend practice.

13 grains of Trail Boss, under a 405 grain bullet, will fill the case more and has been a good long range load for me out to 200 yards.

9 hours ago, Tennessee Snuffy said:

Folks

I need a bit of help, guidance, preference, advice and just general words of wisdom from your personal perspective.

I  am shooting a 405 grain bullet with 28.8 grains of IMR 4198 in a 45-70.  This load will only fill up the case about 1/3 of the way.  Does any add "any type of filler" on top of the powder to get a full case (similar to blackpowder) before seating the bullet?  

Thanks

Tennessee Snuffy

What does the online manual at Hodgdon .com or Lyman's Reloading Manual or the Lyman Cast Bullet Handbook say.