SASS Wire Forum

Shotguns and rubber pads

Eben Auds

Howdy!

I am a newb to CAS/SASS, and I'm looking to get a shotgun. I already have to Pietta Westerners, and a '92 clone, but no period shotgun.

Looking around, I see a lot of the Stoegers and Baikals (and probably others) have rubber recoil pads. As someone who does other historical reenactments with a lot of thread counters, I tend to lean towards historical accuracy. I don't think rubber recoil pads existed (although vulcanization started about 1839), so I'm curious how this works. I suppose worst case I could cover it with leather. Am I right in thinking I should avoid the rubber recoil pads (or just remove them, if possible)?

I've also noticed that none of those are modeled after a specific firearm from the era, but they seems popular. Am I over-thinking this aspect?

1) A lot of your questions will be answered in the Shooter's Handbook, or by GOING TO A MATCH before you start buying lots of guns and accessories.

2) Yes, rubber recoil pads are allowed on long guns. You can also use slip-on rubber pads, slip on leather pads, lace-on pads and covers. Handbook lays out the possibilities.

3) We are not a re-enactment group, we're a shooting group shooting guns of the Old West.

4) If you see lots of other folks doing something, usually it's because they have all found out already that it is allowed under our rules. We don't have lots of folks who are intentionally trying to break the SASS rules.

You will save LOTS of money, frustration, time and delay by going to a few local matches and asking questions. They will probably force guns on you and get you shooting. SASS pards are just that way, bless their hearts.

And yes, you are over-thinking and applying your own artificial restrictions which are not appropriate or necessary.

Good luck, GJ

1) A lot of your questions will be answered in the Shooter's Handbook, or by GOING TO A MATCH before you start buying lots of guns and accessories.