SASS Wire Forum

Checkered Grips

Waimea

Howdy Pards,

I have standard (smooth) rosewood grips on my OM Vaqueros.

Lately I've been shooting one-handed and was wondering about checkered grips.

So my question is to those of you that have checkered grips:

Do you feel like you have a better control of your pistol than with smooth grips?

To those of you that don't have 'em:

Have you ever thought about getting checkered grips? If so what stopped you?

Thanks again for your answers,

Waimea

:FlagAm:

Ever since I started shooting Gunfighter I had to put on checkered grips. I couldn't hang onto the grips that were smooth. Mac

In Florida it is usually very hot and humid; I sweat so much that the checkered grips really help. I also use pro grip liquid on my hands that help.

Howdy Pards,

I have standard (smooth) rosewood grips on my OM Vaqueros.

Lately I've been shooting one-handed and was wondering about checkered grips.

So my question is to those of you that have checkered grips:

Do you feel like you have a better control of your pistol than with smooth grips?

To those of you that don't have 'em:

Have you ever thought about getting checkered grips? If so what stopped you?

Thanks again for your answers,

Waimea

I have checkered gunfighter grips on my OM Vaqueros. At the end of a long hot day I feel like they really help with the sweat and more importantly give a nice consistent grip to me.

Regards

Gateway Kid

The SASS rules state you cannot enhance gripping with non-period grooving/engraving.

Jim Downing (www.thegunengraver.com) engraved my backstraps which aided gripping a great deal. The large scrollwork adds just enough grip without biting into the skin. I think that the force of my grip is at the front and rear straps, not the side panels. My OMV's with smooth false-ivory grips stay put in hot or cold weather.

It is pretty easy to send him your grip frame. Since it is not the receiver of the gun, no FFL or funky shipping is requried.