SASS Wire Forum

Asking for someone else, really, I'm not kidding ...

I don't have case or bullet feeders on my 550s, but they're far enough apart thar both can be use simultaneously and have close to hand things like primer flip trays, powder scale & boxes for bullets and my ½ to 1-½ gal buckets I store brass in.

About 3 feet:

DSCN0423_zps5d2c7a31.jpg?width=320&heigh

Like Griff’s idea of three feet or a bit under that.  When you go to replace parts such as an indexer ring you sometimes want some elbow room.  That being said, my 650 and my 750 are both on platforms and from edge to edge are about 18 inches apart.  Works okay for me but if no platform I would want further.  So, although three sounds nice I would not hesitate to go a little closer.  .

I've been running a pair of DILLON 650s for a couple of decades.  They are mounted on a steel bench four foot long bench.  I had never measured the spacing until today, but I mounted them toward either end of the bench.  Turns out my spacing is right at thirty inches center to center, which leaves me room for the flip tray and other messy stuff in between 'em.  Both have case feeders and bullet trays.  One is set up for Small Primers and the other is Large Primers (I'm lazy) and I have six or seven tool heads for different cartridges also each caliber has it's own dedicated Powder Measure.  I just got one press back from Re-Hab at DILLON.  Fabulous service I might add.

To be honest, if I had the space, the question would have been for me, myself and I.  I use single caliber dedicated complete tool heads with powder measures on my 750 but still have to swap out the small primer and large primer feed components.  I just make sure I load large (for me) runs of a given caliber -- on the order of about 1500-2000 rounds, to minimize the swapping frequency.