SASS Wire Forum

Shotgun powders

I'm able to get TightWad.

I do not use it.

I have a customer that only uses TightWad in his shotgun rounds.

Not sure what his load data is.

Thanks for the info, Cliff. Right now I am interested in the pros and cons of it.

What I read, it looks all good. But that is published stuff from the sources that sell it.

Not something that always goes to the bank.

In answer to your question, I use tightwad for trap. Can't tell the difference between it and clays as far as shooting clean. I load to the book for 1oz, around 1200 fps loads. Hope this helps.

Thanks, that is what I am looking for. I want to switch to some 5 stand loads for 7 1/2 loads using tightwad. I will then switch over my Clays loads or go back and forth depending on patterns. Thanks BC.

BMC,

I have no experience with TITEWAD, but I have used TITEGROUP for some 1 oz shotshell loads. TITEGROUP is not as versatile as some other powders for shotshells, but Hodgdon does list loading data for it, and it worked fine for me.

Just mentioning TITEGROUP because a lot of CAS shooter use it in rifle and revolvers, and thought you might have some laying around, since availability of other powders is a problem.

BMC, I looked at the Hodgdon's loading guide that you get at some matches.....also available for download on their website.

For 12 g, 2 3/4 shells the lowest shot loads I found for Tightwad are:

For AA hulls, 209 primers there is a load for 1 oz of shot with a velocity of 1125 fps.

For STS hulls, 209 primers there is a load for 7/8 oz of shot with a velocity of 1250 fps.

That would be a starting point, if you are looking for lighter recoil you could work your way down on the powder loads in the manual a little at a time.....do so at your own risk...YMMV...etc. etc.

Kajun