SASS Wire Forum

Winchester Model 1887 Lever Action Shotgun

Paco Steel

I am new to the wire so I am sure this has been asked before. What are the pros and cons to using a 1887 Lever Action Shotgun in Cowboy Shooting. I have a side by side and an 1897 pump. I just can not get it together to shoot the 1897 very well. I am doing much better with the side by side but I want to take it up a notch. Will the 1887 help or just be another problem? Thanks to all in advance. Paco Steel

Stick with the side by side, while some can shoot 87s, slicked up ones, well, from what I understand it's far easier to "compete" with a side by side.

On the other hand, a lever shotgun is just plain COOL.

Grizz

The 87 takes a lot of practice to become quick with it. If you think it will take you "up a notch" over the times with your double, that most likely won't be true. Again, 87s are fun, they can be very fast; however, they take a LOT of practice.

The 87 takes a lot of practice to become quick with it. If you think it will take you "up a notch" over the times with your double, that most likely won't be true. Again, 87s are fun, they can be very fast; however, they take a LOT of practice.

+1 here

I have both, the 1887 is just too cool but I don't practice with it so I am dammed slow with it. It tales A LOT of practice ta get fast with these....

I am at least twice as quick with the SxS.

JJJ-D

:ph34r::ph34r:

Deuce does them all fast. I am waitting to see him do a S X S hammer. I watch his vid on the S X S and try with my Baikal,and it has helped me alot.I have a really nice 97 but I cant do it as fast as I can my S X S but It is fun also.

I started this game 20 years ago with a 97. I could never get any speed out of it. (I never practice) I sold it and got a SxS. I was OK with it. (I never practice) I gave it to my wife when she started to shoot. I got my 87 then and a buddy did the "drop 2" job on it and I'm not THAT slow with it. (Oh, and did I say "I don't practice")

TF