SASS Wire Forum

reloading reminder

Doc Nelson #19958

Okay, I started reloading last night after a few months of not doing any. I did my normal pre-startup checks and maintenance on the blue 650. I've been reloading for 30 years now, 8-10 years on the 650.

During the first 100 rounds I glanced into the cartridge collector and low and behold, an empty casing! Yep, it was primed, yep there was powder in the bin.

Out comes the scale, I weigh the finished bullets until I find a heavy one, there was barely any bulge in the .38 casing but there were 2 125 grain bullets in it. I finished weighing the rest but I was reasonably sure I had found the potential disaster.

Upon inspection of the empty case, it was split, I either missed it during inspection or it split upon resizing, either way, it did not hold the bullet in during seating and somehow the bullet stayed in the die. I felt a difference while running the press but I thought a .357 case had gotten mixed in so I was looking on the right side of the plate when the problem was on the left side. It felt just like a longer case was being belled or a dirty case was being sized.

In all my years of reloading, this is the first instance for me of such a potential hazard. I had one squib once when using a 550 so I figured the 650 would be a good upgrade.

Be vigilant, be consistent and be safe out there!

Doc Nelson

I load 350-500 rounds per month on a single-stage press and have never, never, never in 25 years had a dud or a backwards primer or a double-charge or any other such compromise that I hear of with these progressive tools. Reloading is half the fun, especially in WCF short rounds. Guess I just don't understand the contraption attraction.

Glad to hear that no one got hurt and no gun was destroyed.

Doc,

this is one of the best advices for a reloader to get and be reminded of all the time.

I use the SDB. I load ALOT!