Jump to content
SASS Wire Forum

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Kirk James

Why reload?

Recommended Posts

 Directions:   With the rifle-Shoot 1-3-1 and then repeat from the same direction. 

 Example 1  Shooter shoots 1-3-1 correctly on the correct targets, then repeats the same sequence correctly hitting the first target with one shoot, hits the second target with two shots and jacks out the third round,  then hits the third target with the last shot.   WTC?

Example 2   Same directions.  Shooter shoots the 1-3-1 correctly on the correct targets, then repeats the same sequence hitting the first target correctly, then hits the second target with 2 rounds correctly but jacks out the third round, then hits the last target.  Shooter then reloads and hits the second target or the third target.   WTC?

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Am I missing something or is this simply a "P" for both examples?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

A shooter who ejects a rifle round in the middle of a shooting string has FOUR choices:

1) Re-engage same target; then reload at the end of the string for the last target = No Penalty

2) Re-engage same target w/NO reload = Miss for the ejected (unfired) round

3) Skip to next target w/NO reload = Miss

4) Skip to next target w/reload/return to re-engage skipped target = Procedural

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
9 minutes ago, Kirk James said:

 Directions:   With the rifle-Shoot 1-3-1 and then repeat from the same direction. 

 Example 1  Shooter shoots 1-3-1 correctly on the correct targets, then repeats the same sequence correctly hitting the first target with one shoot, hits the second target with two shots and jacks out the third round,  then hits the third target with the last shot.   WTC?

The call is one Miss. Each round has a designated target. In this case each shot was engaged properly.

Example 2   Same directions.  Shooter shoots the 1-3-1 correctly on the correct targets, then repeats the same

sequence hitting the first target correctly, then hits the second target with 2 rounds correctly but jacks out the third round, then hits the last target.  Shooter then reloads and hits the second target or the third target.   WTC?

In this case the shooter still only receives one Miss and there is no adjustment for his/her time wasted loading and firing the rifle with the eleventh round.

 

In order to complete the stage properly the shooter could have engaged target #2 with the tenth loaded round and then reloaded and engaged the #3 target with the reload. Assuming the shooter hit all the targets then there would be No call to make.

 

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

http://www.oowss.com/SASS Rules Docs/Reload choices (edit Aug 2018).pdf

 

  

44 minutes ago, Kirk James said:

 Directions:   With the rifle-Shoot 1-3-1 and then repeat from the same direction. 

 Example 1  Shooter shoots 1-3-1 correctly on the correct targets, then repeats the same sequence correctly hitting the first target with one shoot, hits the second target with two shots and jacks out the third round,  then hits the third target with the last shot.   WTC?

 

MISS

 

44 minutes ago, Kirk James said:

 Directions:   With the rifle-Shoot 1-3-1 and then repeat from the same direction. 

Example 2   Same directions.  Shooter shoots the 1-3-1 correctly on the correct targets, then repeats the same sequence hitting the first target correctly, then hits the second target with 2 rounds correctly but jacks out the third round, then hits the last target.  Shooter then reloads and hits the second target or the third target.   WTC?

 

 

Hitting either the second or third target with the 10th round fired out of the gun earns a PROCEDURAL in either case.

 

If the shooter hits the second target with the 10th round, that is bad as the 10th round was to go on the last target.

 

If the shooter hits the third target with the 10th round, that is bad as they hit the last target with rounds 9 and 10.

 

 

Once the shooter goes "1-3-1 correctly on the correct targets, then repeats the same sequence hitting the first target correctly, then hits the second target with 2 rounds correctly but jacks out the third round, then hits the last target", he has, at a minimum a MISS.

 

If he reloads and hits a target, he negates the MISS but now earned a PROCEDURAL. 

 

If he reloads and misses a target, they now earned a PROCEDURAL (hitting target 3 with the 9th round) AND a MISS.

 

So, I agree with you....at the point that the third target was hit, "why reload?"

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

1) Miss

2) P

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
5 hours ago, Ace_of_Hearts said:

 Directions:   With the rifle-Shoot 1-3-1 and then repeat from the same direction. 

 ...

Example 2   Same directions.  Shooter shoots the 1-3-1 correctly on the correct targets, then repeats the same

sequence hitting the first target correctly, then hits the second target with 2 rounds correctly but jacks out the third round, then hits the last target.  Shooter then reloads and hits the second target or the third target.   WTC?

In this case the shooter still only receives one Miss and there is no adjustment for his/her time wasted loading and firing the rifle with the eleventh round.

 

The above answer to the OP is factually inaccurate.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
8 hours ago, McCandless said:
8 hours ago, Branchwater Jack SASS #88854 said:

http://www.oowss.com/SASS Rules Docs/Reload choices (edit Aug 2018).pdf

 

  

 

 

 

If the shooter hits the second target with the 10th round, that is bad as the 10th round was to go on the last target.

 

 

1) Re-engage same target; then reload at the end of the string for the last target = No Penalty

 

 

So which one is it   ?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
18 minutes ago, Major BS Walker Regulator said:

So which one is it   ?

Both statements you quoted are factually accurate.

 

A shooter who ejects a rifle round in the middle of a shooting string has FOUR choices:

 

Re-engage same target; then reload at the end of the string for the last target = No Penalty

 

 

In order for the previous to be true, the shooter would have had to engaged the following: Shooter shoots the 1-3-1 correctly on the correct targets, then repeats the same

sequence hitting the first target correctly, then hits the second target with 2 rounds correctly but jacks out the third round. They then hit the second target with the 10th round. Shooter then reloads and hits the third target. 

 

in this manner, the shooter ejected the round, re-engaged the target they had the eject on and reloaded at the end of the string.

 

the OP indicated that the shooter did not do that, however. Once they struck the 10th target in the string, they were committed and stuck.

 

If the shooter hits the second target with the 10th round, that is bad as the 10th round was to go on the last target.

 

if they then reloaded and shot target 2 at the end, they just put one one 1, double tapped the middle, put one on 3, one on 2. they did not do a 1-3-1 sweep, earning a P.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sorry, I misread to post.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Everyone seems to agree situation 1 is a miss.  I appreciate the responses.  In situation 2 it would be best if the TO did not say "load one" if the jacked out round came before the 10th shot and shooter shot everything else correctly prior to the 10th shot since they would just have a miss rather than a procedural.  Is this correct?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
9 hours ago, Branchwater Jack SASS #88854 said:

http://www.oowss.com/SASS Rules Docs/Reload choices (edit Aug 2018).pdf

 

  

 

MISS

 

 

Hitting either the second or third target with the 10th round fired out of the gun earns a PROCEDURAL in either case.

 

If the shooter hits the second target with the 10th round, that is bad as the 10th round was to go on the last target.

 

If the shooter hits the third target with the 10th round, that is bad as they hit the last target with rounds 9 and 10.

 

 

Once the shooter goes "1-3-1 correctly on the correct targets, then repeats the same sequence hitting the first target correctly, then hits the second target with 2 rounds correctly but jacks out the third round, then hits the last target", he has, at a minimum a MISS.

 

If he reloads and hits a target, he negates the MISS but now earned a PROCEDURAL. 

 

If he reloads and misses a target, they now earned a PROCEDURAL (hitting target 3 with the 9th round) AND a MISS.

 

So, I agree with you....at the point that the third target was hit, "why reload?"

I don't think you are correct.  Once the 9th round was jacked out, the 10th round becomes the 9th round and can be fired at target #2 and the reload becomes the 10 round.  No procedural.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

MR. Kirk, OP never mentioned TO instructing to load one but once the third target was hit on the second go round, you can then only get a P for a reload once it too hits any rifle target as you just stated or asked. TO should not say anything.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Jeb Stuart #65654 said:

I don't think you are correct.  Once the 9th round was jacked out, the 10th round becomes the 9th round and can be fired at target #2 and the reload becomes the 10 round.  No procedural.

You are absolutely correct that the 10th bullet in the gun could have gone on target 2 and the shooter could have reloaded the Jacked our round.  But reading the OP, he didn't do that. So, once the 10th round hit the last target, he was stuck. Any round fired out of the gun at that point is a procedural.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
19 hours ago, Kirk James said:

 Directions:   With the rifle-Shoot 1-3-1 and then repeat from the same direction. 

 Example 1  Shooter shoots 1-3-1 correctly on the correct targets, then repeats the same sequence correctly hitting the first target with one shoot, hits the second target with two shots and jacks out the third round,  then hits the third target with the last shot.   WTC?

MIss.

 

Quote

Example 2   Same directions.  Shooter shoots the 1-3-1 correctly on the correct targets, then repeats the same sequence hitting the first target correctly, then hits the second target with 2 rounds correctly but jacks out the third round, then hits the last target.  Shooter then reloads and hits the second target or the third target.   WTC?

 

Depends on how it was written. I'd write that two different ways. 1) Shoot a 1-3-1 SWEEP on the 3 targets....then it was a P. Or, I'd place a square, circle and a square out (or a black, blue, black target etc) and write it saying place 1 round on the square, 3 on the circle and 1 on the other square......and then repeat the instructions for the next 5 shot string...…….then you can not earn a P if you are a fast thinker, have a good TO or both.

 

The way it's written I'd say a P because it's not clear if it's a sweep or a round count but IMO it could be more clear. And yes if you reload only to shoot the wrong target you will get the reloading time added plus the P so I'd not recommend that.....you'd be better off with the miss and no P and the time it took to earn it. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.