SASS Wire Forum

O.T. Gunsmith of Colonial Williamsburg Video

Howdy

Many, many years ago, when I was a freshman or sophomore in college, I saw a movie about the gunsmith in Colonial Williamsburg. This was long, long before videos, one of the history professors got ahold of the film and showed it in his class. I remember being spellbound by the skill of the gunsmith as he created a beautiful flintlock rifle from nothing more than bars of iron (not steel, iron), chunks of brass, and a walnut plank. He made the entire rifle, lock, stock, and barrel, with nothing more than hand tools and a forge.

I have always wanted to see the movie again, but had no idea if it even existed anymore. Well folks, I just finished watching it. It is the exact same film I saw over 40 years ago. And it is even better than I remembered.

I found it at Amazon, the title is The Gunsmith of Williamsburg, and it only cost me $19.95. If you are at all interested in how Colonial gunsmiths made flintlock rifles in the days before mass production, I cannot recommend this video highly enough. It is breath taking to watch the gunsmith weld up the barrel and rifle it. His skill at hammering out the parts to the lock from red hot iron is nothing short of amazing.

Not exactly cowboy, but if you are at all interested in the history of firearms, I cannot recommend this video highly enough.

P.S. I thought the narrator sounded familiar, but I just could not place his voice. The credits showed it was David Brinkley. Remember him?

Especially fascinating to me is the forging and hand rifling of the barrel. Back when I was heavy into ML I read that in todays money a barrel would cost you around two grand. It may be more than that now.

Its simply amazing that people like Herschel House, Steve Davis, and many others can take raw materials and transform them into works of art equal to anything produced during the Golden Age.

Watch the film, you won't be sorry.