SASS Wire Forum

stevens 311 mods

Boomstick Bruce

First off, I'm new to SASS. I have been told more than once and have read the Steven's 311 is not he best shotgun for SASS but they are built like tanks. Well i'm not shooting to win, i'm shooting to have fun, and i am having a ton of it!!! so, i shoot a 311 as my match shotgun. in my first match i discovered it's slow, heavy and all you know reloading it can be a real pain, especially with the stress of being on the clock. so i ordered some wolff springs, did the hold open mod and cut her down to 20"... WOW!!! its a totally different creature now!!! what a smooth, fast and manageable gun!!!! if you're new to sass/cas, and you're looking for an indestructible shotgun the handles well and will suit you for a few years, i dont think you can go wrong with a modded Stevens 311! I love mine!!!

Love all My 311's .

Great American made SxS .

I use a Stoeger for Cowboy when I shoot a SxS .

Have been using one for 9 years now , With Zero Issues.

Now as of this year Im trying a 1887 slicked up by Lassiter.

Going to be a much bigger learning curve .

Good basic guns made by a reputable firearm firm.  A couple of thoughts:

Savage-Stevens made the 311 until the 1970s.  That means that the youngest 311 that you find is 40 years old.  Make sure that that the 311 that you choose to work with is still a solid gun.

The 5100 is likely a poor choice.  It looks like a 311 but is difficult to break down and is a level below the 311 in quality.

I started out with two 311s. Slicked them up and they worked well. Finally found the wife a Baikal so I sold her 311.  about a year later I found a Baikal and started shooting it. Then I got a Lassiter 87 and haven't shot my SXS in over a year.

Boomstick Bruce,