SASS Wire Forum

Cimarron Richard Mason Problems

C.S. Brady, SASS #63699

I shot my new pistol today and found it shot quite a bit to the left. It also needs the cylinder turned just shy of a click to get the ejector to work. I am new to this pistol, so is any of this normal? The caliber is. 38.

Well, the ejector thing is normal. You have to stop just shy of when it clicks to line everything up. A little judicious grinding of the ejector rod will help some, but you still will need to get a feel for when it's right.

As for shooting left, I've not had that problem with any of the dozen or so that I have shot. They point so natural that I just point and pull.

CS I'm with Goody on them being more nit picky about ejection, they are much more particular about lining everything up then a clone or Ruger. Have found the fingernail on your index finger works fine too.

As to the gun shooting left, well HEY LARSEN, LAREN PETTIFOGGER where are you?

First thought that popped into my head if its not the sites then maybe, just maybe the pins that line up the bbl/ejector rod assembly to the frame could be slightly misalligned. Of the 4 opentops and all the 1860s I've owned by both Pietta and Uberti this has never been a problem. Try shooting it off a rest as well.

Don't mean to question your shooting technique, but these guns tend to point out any flawed mechanics in your grip.

I have a pair of them in 44 Special. If I get too much finger on the trigger or get my hand too far around on the grip they will shoot away from my hand.

I shoot gunfighter, if this happens my left gun will shoot to the right and my right gun will shoot to the left.

Re-adjusting my grip so that my wrist and arm are straight and form a straight line with the barrel while getting only the "ball of my trigger finger" on the trigger seems to correct this.